Products>The Whole Works of John Flavel (6 vols.)

The Whole Works of John Flavel (6 vols.)


Digital list price: $39.99
Save $10.00 (25%)


John Flavel was a British Presbyterian clergyman in the seventeenth century, a time of religious persecution in England. Charles II passed the Act of Uniformity in 1662, forcing all ministers not under the Church of England to serve in secret, including Flavel. Persecuted for not following the orders of the Church of England, Flavel was a faithful minister and worked hard to serve his congregation, despite poor health. He was widely known for being a man of prayer, sincere, and faithful to God, an example to his parishioners and peers.

This six-volume set contains all his writings—sermons, letters, poems, exhortations, and treatises. Flavel focuses on the nature of God, as well as writing extensively on the life of Christ. He also includes a treatise on the nature of humanity and its relation to God. Flavel also examines suffering and other concerns, using Scripture and personal examples. This is an important and encouraging collection from one of the most prominent and dedicated ministers of his time. It will be of interest to students and professors of the Puritan era, as well as those wanting to learn more about the history of Presbyterianism in England.

  • Comprehensive collection of Flavel's works
  • Includes biography of John Flavel
  • Comprehensive index for all six volumes
  • Title: The Whole Works of John Flavel (6 vols.)
  • Author: John Flavel
  • Publisher: W. Baynes and Son
  • Volumes: 6
  • Pages: 3,713

John Flavel was born in 1627, whose father was persecuted for not obeying the Church of England. Flavel followed in his father’s footsteps as a Presbyterian clergyman and was forced to minister in secret due to the Act of Uniformity in 1662 under Charles II. The Act was repealed for a time under James II in 1687, allowing those not serving in the Church of England to minister freely. Flavel was known as a man of integrity and deep commitment to God. He died in 1691.


7 ratings


Sign in with your Faithlife account

  1. Forrest Cole

    Forrest Cole


  2. Donn Heinrich

    Donn Heinrich


  3. Mr. Youngblood
  4. Kevin Bratcher
  5. Daniel Caballero.
    Amazing resource!

  6. Brayden Brookshier
    Underrated! So rich in theological depth and practical devotion.

  7. Reid A Ferguson

    Reid A Ferguson


    I've owned these for many years in hardback, and could not be more thrilled to see them in Logos. No doubt some of my Christmas money will end up procuring them this year. Volume 1 itself may be one of the most uplifting and Christ exalting set of addresses in Puritan literature. It stands on its own as a stunning example of how one can return over and over to the person and work of Christ, and draw you higher and higher each time. Every sermon is exquisite. Be sure to read his son's comments about his father's godliness and practice in the home, for the account of Flavel's faculty in prayer is truly inspiring. Vol 2 has also proved to be a treasure, and vol. 3 which is mainly a treatise on the soul of man is simply so outstanding in delving into the dignity of man as made in God;s image it is hard to overestimate. I've yet to plunder volumes 4-6, but will as the Lord allows. These long buried treasures are sure to warm your own soul, while always providing superb examples of the powerful use of illustration, exegetical refinement and passion for Christ on every page. Read them when looking for insight into particular passages or topics - but above all - devotionally. If your heart is not moved at the sight of the Savior Flavel depicts for you, you are a stone and no man. This is one refreshing fountain to slake your thirst at.


Digital list price: $39.99
Save $10.00 (25%)